Wilson has two reasons to celebrate

14 Sep, 2011 01:00 AM

WORKS Green player Dean Wilson scored a double this week, winning the B grade snooker championship last Sunday before wrapping up the A reserve most consistent player trophy on Wednesday night.

Wilson beat last year's winner John Saggers 3-2 in a close B grade final to go through the championship undefeated, having previously beaten Glen Johansen and Ethan Brown.

In the consistency trophy Wilson needed to win one frame last week to finish in front of Zane Brown, of the Green Horns.

Wilson won both frames to finish 25 frames from 32 played. Brown won 26 from 36 played.

Interclub snooker

The A reserve minor premiership went down to the wire, with new team Works Green Horns clinching top spot on the ladder by just one point. It defeated Launceston RSL White 8-4, while Works Green could only manage a 6-6 draw against Exeter at the Exeter Club.

The win means The Green Horns now get the bye in the first week of finals, while Green faces Navy in a qualifying final at the Works Club, and Exeter plays Amber in an elimination final at Exeter.

For the Green Horns, brothers Zane and Ethan Brown and Tony Quach were the winners. Denis Collins was RSL White's only winner.

Works Green's six-all draw against Exeter dropped it to second place. Rowan Phelps and Dean Wilson won for Green, while Derek Peart and Chris Reid won for Exeter.

The Exeter team finished fourth to secure a home elimination final against Amber.

Works Navy secured third spot with an 8-4 win over Works Red. Brian O'Byrne and Steve Collins won for the Navy team.

Red 106 and White 105 did not qualify for the finals.

In A grade, minor premiers the Flaming Devils will get the first week bye in the finals, while Works Black plays Works Blue in the qualifying final and The Raiders plays Works Gold in the cut-throat elimination final.

Both matches are at the Works Club.

Last week the Devils were too strong for the Raiders, winning 3-1, with Josh and Heath Rainbow as well as Scott Kopriva winning for Devils. Keith Coomber won for the Raiders.

Last year's A grade premier Exeter beat Works Blue 3-1. Ben Swain (2-1) capped off a great season by wrapping up the A grade consistency award with a hard-fought 2-1 win over Blue's Hans Georgieff. Rex Swain and Lloyd Rogers both won 2-0 for Exeter.

Northern snooker champion Graeme Pickett won 2-1 for Blue.

Launceston RSL Grey 3 defeated Works Gold 1, with Roydyn Bishop capping off a brilliant year to finish with a minus 2 handicap and winning 2-0. David Sheppard and Harley Stebbings also won for the Grey team, while John Fraser was Gold's only winner.