Northern players to challenge for state honours

03 Aug, 2011 12:00 AM

NORTHERN Tasmanian players to contest the state snooker championship at the Burnie Club this weekend are Graeme Pickett, Peter Donati, Gary Bjarnoe Elliott, Robin McEnnulty and Keith Coomber.
Defending state champion the South is represented by Les Higgins, Gregg Watt, Steve Carroll, Luke Webb, Phil Woodham and Anthony Adams.
The North-West team includes Callan Bissett, Peter Spencer, Brian Cole, Denny Mayne and Joe Bonnici.
In the Southern Tasmanian championship defending champion Les Higgins beat rival Gregg Watt to win his 19th Southern snooker title five frames to two.

Hanson Shield
NORTHERN players selected to play in the John Hanson Shield at the Launceston Works Club over this weekend of August 13-14 are - Snooker: Rolf Stevenson, Andrew Saltmarsh, Lionel Young, Steve Leary, Trevor Leary, Adrian White. Billiards: Wayne Purdon and Barry Glover.

Interclub snooker

EXETER player Adam Bindoff and Devils player Shane Franklin played a marathon match at the Exeter Club last week. Franklin prevailed 2-1 after 2 hours and 40 minutes, the longest match in Northern snooker history. All three frames were decided on the black with the first needing a respotted black, which Bindoff won.
The teams played a 2-2 draw with Heath Rainbow joining Franklin as Devils' winners, Ben and Rex Swain both won for Exeter.
Works Blue drew 2-2 with Gold, John Stevenson and Peter Donati winning for Blue, Trevor Leary and Ethan Brown were Gold's winners.
Works Black and the Raiders drew 2 all, Peter Wallace and Andrew Saltmarsh winning for Black, Alan Armitage and Keith Coomber winning for the Raiders.
With all three matches drawn Devils, Raiders and Black remain equal on top on 30 points, separated by percentage, with Blue and Gold close behind on 28
In A-reserve Works Green has gone four points clear of the Green Horns after beating them 7-5 in their top-of-the- table clash, with Navy now clear in third place.
Works Navy followed last week's 8-4 win over Red with a 10-2 demolition of Launceston RSL White. Steve Collins, John Fordham, Craig Jory and Ray Skinner all won for Navy.
Works Green beat the Green Horns 7-5, Dean Wilson and Cor Zoon won for Works Green, and Ethan Brown was the Green Horns' only winner.
Works Red atoned for last week's loss winning 9-3 over Amber, Bob Cain, Alan Armitage, Peter Seaman and Phil Rowbottom won for Red, Peter Grimes was the only winner for Amber.