Shield eludes the North for third year in succession

THE Northern team failed in its attempt to win the John Hanson Shield for the third year in succession.
Played at the Launceston Works Club on August 13 and 14, the North-West team won 23 matches to clinch the shield ahead of North, 16, and South, 9.
The shield is played in honour of a former great, the late John Hanson, who won the Tasmanian snooker championship in 1981, as well as the North Island of New Zealand championship in the late '70s.
Northern players dominated the best snooker break awards: Andrew Saltmarsh, cues 1-2 (29), Steve Leary, cues 3-4 (26), Andrew Rainbow, cues 5-6 (20). Chris Sutton (NW) won the highest billiard break with 47.
Jeremy Cowie's break of 54 didn't count as the tournament was decided before his match

The Northern Team consisted of Trevor Leary (Captain), Adrian White, Andrew Saltmarsh, Steve Leary, Rolf Stevenson, Andrew Rainbow, Wayne Purdon, Barry Glover